(1) Arthur

This is the first piece in a series I am writing as a part of my independent project. If you like this piece and want to find out more about my project then head over to my other site!

D . E . L . I . R . I . U . M

I have never felt fear.

Well. That’s not entirely true.

What I mean is, I’ve never felt fear in the natural sense. Not in the way my ancestors would’ve experienced it for thousands of years before me.

No sudden surge of hormones coursing through my system at any moment. No chills running down my spine when I think something has darted across the room out of the corner of my eye. Not any kind of sixth sense for what my body might consider being ‘dangerous’. Even death itself isn’t something I’ve ever associated with a feeling of discomfort. Actually, I haven’t associated it with any sort of feeling at all. 

Before I was finally able to understand fear myself, I was stuck in Biology class learning about the different types of hormones the adrenal medulla used to secrete back when the ‘fight or flight’ response existed. Except, I’m not actually…

View original post 1,023 more words

Leave a Reply

